Oil Dry Brush with Jason Frieling

Image

For this painting I chose burnt sienna and vandyke brown for my color palette.  I started by tracing over the top of my reference on spirit paper.  I do this the same way I would for a tattoo.  I use a ballpoint pen to get my hard edges and a #2 pencil to get my values.  After the image has been traced I will import the stencil into photoshop so the image can be mirrored.  I print the image and project it to the canvas by drawing with a red prismacolor col-erase color pencil.  I will either use a red or a blue color pencil depending if my over all look will be warm or cold.  Once I have traced my stencil on the canvas I will start painting.  Using only burnt sienna I load my paintbrush and then wipe it off on a paper towel before I hit the canvas with it.  I start by blocking in my shapes and values staying away from my highlight areas.  I will use a kneaded eraser to lift up paint in the highlight areas where needed.  I typically scrub my brushes to apply the paint trying to only tint the canvas.  This usually ruins my paint brushes after a couple of paintings.  But its a small price to pay.  I continue only using burnt sienna until the entire image is blocked in and looks done.  I will then start using the vandyke brown to get my deep values and shadowed areas in place.  I will use a one inch or two inch brush to get large smooth gradients and to sweep over some of my highlights staying away from the strongest highlights.  I try to tint the whole canvas with paint except the strong highlight areas.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

http://www.jasonfrieling.com

https://www.facebook.com/JASONFRIELING

 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Born in 1983 and raised in Phoenix Arizona.  I have been tattooing professionally since 2005.  Self taught, I have been influenced by people like Jeff Gogue, Nikko Hurtado, Paul Acker, Joe Capobianco, Basil Gogo, Andrew Gonzalez, Guy Aitchison, Aaron Cain, and Derek Noble.  I have had the privilege to be guided by fellow artists who have helped me throughout the years.  I am always striving to create dynamically creative and refined work.  I definitely enjoy creating more of a surrealistic style of art with a darker look.   If I am not tattooing then you will find me promoting, painting, drawing, or 3d sculpting.  I have spent my whole life dedicated to studying art.  I have put all my time and effort and money into the technical aspect of art and tattooing from the beginning and will keep doing so until the day i die…..

Leave a Reply

